Final Thoughts on the Strange World Project

by Gabrielle Loisel

I was so nervous and excited for the critique. I’m glad that people liked my images, and that they were effectively unsettling, but I’m also (is this silly?) sad that my pieces aren’t as effective as they could be. I’m sad that they haven’t reached their full potential (I’m totally imagining my work as melancholy, under-performing orphan schoolchildren right now). I think that a little while from now, when I’m more removed from the project, I will be able to go back and edit them into great(er?)ness. I think I should have made my design sentence that I wanted to create “a beautiful and grotesque nightmare world,” because I think that’s what I really wanted, and I think that comes through in my images. I wanted it to be scary as all get-out, but I also wanted it to be pretty.

As for what I learned, OH GOSH. SO MUCH. For one, to title your layers. When Nell talked about naming our layers in PS, was like “Yeah, I guess…I’ll do that later, I don’t need that now…” So I didn’t until I was way up in the project. Pfft, I need my layers titled all the time. It makes life so much easier, and I was a FOOL for not doing it earlier. Also, I feel like a new part of my brain got switched on when it comes to composition. I was never able to understand how all those Nylon girls did their cute lil’ collages like it was no thang. I now realize that was because I was thinking about my canvas as though it were a flat, two-demensional space where you put things next to one another, instead of realizing that collage is a 3-D medium where things go on top of each other and it’s a lot more like arranging a stage than setting things in a row on a shelf. Am I making sense? I also learned how to use a Mac without bumbling around like an idiot, which is very important.

I LEARNED SO MUCH, GUYS.

So what next? I would think something like this: http://www.inbytheeye.com/TheWitch.html . I found this today when I got In By The Eye’s newsletter, and I’m pretty sure it’s the best thing I’ve ever seen and it’s my destiny. Or rather, hyperbole aside, there’s a lot that I can learn from this amazing piece.

